Consortia of APEC Study Centers

United States Consortium

In order to improve interaction among U.S. Consortium members andother individuals and groups concerned with APEC issues, Columbia's APEC Study Center is collaborating in the development of a range of projects, including the organization of substantive conferences in connection with regular meetings of Consortium members and invitations to interested scholars at other APEC Study Centers to attend conferences. In addition to Columbia University, the U.S. Consortium includes the following universities and institutions of advanced research:

Brandeis/Brown APEC Study Center,  Berkeley APEC Study Center, University of California at Berkeley University of California at San Diego,The East-West Center/University of Hawai'i, APEC Study Center‚Ä®University at Buffalo-SUNY‚Ä®, University of Washington, Washington State University


International Consortium

In addition to the United States, APEC Study Centers have been established in twelve other economies. Most APEC Study Centers located abroad are either a) government-selected universities or b) research institutes established to further economic cooperation and provide information to that country's officials, business people, and the public at large. Principal activities, funding and cooperation with other Centers varies widely.


RMIT University



Asia-Pacific Foundation of Canada




China and Hong Kong

  • APEC Study Center, Nankai University
  • APEC Policy Research Centre, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences
  • APEC Research Centre, Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences
  • APEC Study Centre, City University of Hong Kong



  • APEC Study Group, Centre for Strategic and International Studies, Jakarta, Indonesia
  • APEC Study Center, Dept. of Economics, University of Indonesia



  • APEC Study Center, University of Tsukuba
  • APEC Study Center, Institute of Developing Economies-JETRO



Korea National Center for APEC Studies, Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP)




  • APEC Study Center, University of Colima
  • APEC Study Centre, University of Guadalajara
  • APEC Study Centre, University of Baja California Sur
  • Colegio de Mexico


New Zealand

APEC Study Centre, University of Auckland



APEC Study Center, Universidad del Pacifico (ASCUP)



  • Asian Institute of Management
  • Ateneo de Manila University
  • De La Salle University
  • Mindanao State University
  • Philippine APEC Study Center Network (PACSN), Philippine Institute for Development Studies (PIDS)
  • APEC Study Center, University of Asia and the Pacific
  • University of the Philippines, Diliman
  • Xavier University



Institute of Southeast Asian Studies



Chinese Taipei APEC Study Center, Taiwan Institute of Economic Research (TIER)



Thai APEC Study Center (TASC), Thammasat University



Vietnam's APEC Study Centre (DAV)